Grandpa

gandme

‘Tis only one life

‘Twill soon be past

Only what’s done

for Christ will last

This quote is one of my favorites – a reminder I need daily.  It hangs on my bedroom wall, yet I rarely think about it.  But, I bring it up today for another reason: to honor one who seemed to live it out so humbly.

My Grandpa had many gifts.  He was a talented organist, a deep thinker, a seeker of truth, a gifted teacher, and extremely humble.  He didn’t seek for his music to be published or played by the famous.  He didn’t charge large fees for his magnificent organ concerts.  Why?  Money wasn’t his motivation.  Glorifying God was his heart.

Grandpa grew-up in a different time, a different generation, and in a very different home than I.  He was the oldest.  I was the youngest.  And, the list of our differences could go on like that forever.  His upbringing instilled in him a deep sense of reverence and fear of the Lord.  and while I was blessed to be raised to know God, I definitely came to know Him in a different sort of way.

Whereas we both shared a common faith and a love for seeking Truth, Grandpa and I had very different styles of worship.  If he ever had the chance to visit my church, he may have found it too emotional or not reverent enough.  It may lack the profound truths found in much of the liturgy at his church, but it is certainly still full of Biblical truth and a pastor who seeks for his people to know the one true, Living God.

And, although we worship in different ways, I do know this.  God created us each uniquely.  We were both put on this earth at a certain time and place for one reason; to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.  Ultimately, we have the most important thing in common: our faith.

On Tuesday I got the call that my Grandpa went to be with the Lord.  It was his time.  The next morning on my jog, my mind continually went back to Grandpa.  In my mind, I saw this humble, reverent, reserved man meeting his beloved savior for the first time and being overcome with emotion.  I can only imagine how glorious his meeting was.  And now, a few days later, I wonder if he’s found time to speak with J.S. Bach yet — or perhaps he went right to meet Martin Luther?

As sad as it can be to lose a loved one, it is also a gift to be reminded of the reality of Heaven and that this place is only our temporary home.  It is good to ponder meeting the Creator of the Universe, and to find comfort in knowing Grandpa’s suffering is no more.  It is good for my heart to overflow with gratitude for my Grandpa’s humble example and legacy of faith — even if we live it out in different ways.

Thank you, Grandpa, for your faith and prayers.  You may not have known how to say it in words, but I know you loved me and I know you loved Jesus and I am thrilled to think of you with Him now!  I look forward to seeing you again in Heaven!

Leave a Reply

