Simple Saturday

I woke up yesterday to the most awesome feeling in the whole world; a free Saturday with my family!  No sport games.  No classes.  No prepping for Monday’s co-op.  Nothing that had to be done.  It was glorious!

We had blueberry pancakes, slowly sipped coffee, and did a few projects.  After lunch, we spontaneously decided to go for a “little” hike, which turned out to be almost 3 hours.  Did I mention it was also a cool, gorgeous day?  My soul needed a day exactly like yesterday.

hike1

hike2

hike3

hike4

I LOVE tunnel trees!

hike5

Check out the bird in the picture above.  It’s a bit hard to see, but it is an acorn woodpecker.  We also saw two deer on the hike, but couldn’t get a picture.

hike6

hike7

hike8

hike9

We love making “bouquets!”

hike10

hike11

Did you spy my husband in the picture above?  He took several of these “detours,” despite my yelling, “If you go up there you are sleeping on the couch!”  (He knew my threats were idle… he knows me too well!)

hike12

hike13

hike14

Someone had a nice nap the last 3/4 of a mile!

hike16

hike17

hike18

We thought this hole resembled a heart.  “Mom, take a picture of ‘I love Cheez-Its!'”

hike19

hike21

5 miles and some tired legs later, we were ready for some snow for dinner!  It was a fun experience, though I don’t think it’s worth the price.  Here’s the concept; they freeze a block of ice cream, then shave it thin, let you add toppings, and call it snow!

hike20

Once we finished, we went home for warm showers, a cozy movie, and straight to bed!

Feeling so thankful for a cool, unplanned family day!

Leave a Reply

