Saying Goodbye

It’s hard to know where to begin a post like this.  To be honest, I wasn’t even sure if I should take pictures, or if l should even blog about it.  Sometimes there’s just no easy answer.  But, I talked it over with my husband and we decided yes — it would be good to capture a glimpse of saying goodbye to our first loss of a parent.  Daniel’s mom  passed away at age 71.  While it wasn’t expected, it also wasn’t a surprise as she had been suffering greatly from Alzheimer’s.sgb 1

sgb 2

sgb 3

sgb 4

sgb 5

sgb 6

sgb 7

sgb 8

sgb 9

sgb 10

sgb 11

One thing I will always remember about Mom is her big smile, her laugh and her delicious meals.  She welcomed me into the family from day one.  Though our communication was limited, I never felt awkward or uncomfortable around “Ama.”

It was so beautiful to have the entire service in Chinese, and yet to feel the Holy Spirit.  While those around me sang hymns in Chinese, I sang in English and wondered if this was a glimpse of Heaven; each of us praising our Heavenly Father in our own tongue.  I don’t know…

2 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye

Leave a Reply

