Our Biking “Advent”(ure)

Natalie came up with the title… Isn’t it clever?  Last week I intended to blog about how Malachi is finally an official bike rider.  Sadly, I never got to it… or to much other blogging.  It’s seemed to take a back door with all the busyness of the season, but I am hoping to get back into my groove!  I thought today would be the perfect day to start with a post about our first official family bike ride with all kids riding on their own!

br1 br2 br3 br4 br5 br6

Thanks to yesterday’s rain, we had several beautiful puddles, (or rivers, as Malachi called them).  We were also gifted the beauty of snow on the mountains!  I dared Malachi to bike through one puddle.  Silly Mom… poor guy almost lost a shoe in the mud and had to ride around with a wet, muddy foot the rest of the day.  Good thing he’s a trooper!

br7

Of course, Daniel had to try out the little kids’ “jump.”

br8 br9

Who says California doesn’t have seasons?  We stopped to play at the park for quite a while, then headed back home for some chili, homemade bread, and cheese fondue.

br10 br11

I was expecting the bike path to be crowded.  It was empty.  I guess everyone is doing their Christmas shopping.  You couldn’t pay me enough to trade our beautiful bike ride for fighting the crowds at the mall.  I’d love to say I’m done with shopping, but no… Looks like I’ll be doing all my shopping online!  🙂

Leave a Reply

