Seattle Getaway!

It was short, but sweet.  We arrived in Seattle Saturday night after dropping our kids off with friends.  My first comment to my husband was, “I can’t wait for tomorrow morning so we can go try some Seattle coffee!”  Arriving at the hotel and knowing we could stay up as late as we want and not have to get up in the morning was incredible.   Before coming, we vaguely researched Seattle, but ultimately we were taking it easy, enjoying time with the two of us, and of course looking to try some yummy food and coffee.  I’d say it was the most relaxed vacation ever, and left us feeling totally refreshed!

bel1

After sleeping in and enjoying breakfast at the hotel, we went out in search of coffee.  This place was ranked #2 in Seattle, and was probably my favorite cup of the whole trip.  Although my husband doesn’t enjoy coffee, he is always up for a good warm drink… so Seattle apple cider it was!

bel2 bel3

Despite the rain, we headed out to Snoqualamine Falls.  We were so glad we did!  The rain wasn’t too hard, and was off and on.  The falls were stunning and something neither of us had ever experienced.

bel4 bel5 bel6

We then hiked through luscious green to get to the bottom of the falls.  (And we saw a young couple hop the fence onto the rocks… craziness!)

bel7 bel8

Driving back towards the hotel, we drove through a little town called Issaquah, and followed signs in search of their salmon hatchery.  Ironically, it was not on our gps, but right smack in the middle of the town, and completely empty.  We followed along the self-guided tour, and really learned a lot.  It also put me in the mood for some salmon…

bel9 bel11 bel12

One of my favorite parts of the trip was eating meals at “off-times.”  We had this delicious lunch around 3pm, then went back for a nap at about 4pm!  We also pulled off the road once more when we saw a sign for a lake, and it was beautiful!

bel13

Though I have no pictures, I must make mention of the dinner we ended up going to.  Daniel found a Japanese Ramen house, and when we arrived it was packed… even though it was 8:30pm!  Luckily for us, there was a table for 2 open.  We felt kind of bad being seated before all the other people waiting, but we both agreed it was the best ramen we ever had… (even if I did smell like garlic for a day!)  We topped off our full day with a late movie at the hotel.

Day 2: We headed west to Pike’s Place and downtown Seattle.  When Daniel went to pay for parking, the man next to us told him he had just been broken into.  So, we found a different parking spot!

bel14 bel15 bel16

We walked and walked… enjoyed coffee, cheese samples, fish samples, and dried fruits. A man at the Fish Market told us February is known as “Deaduary” since it’s their slowest month.  Since neither of us is good with crowds, we were very thankful it was slow season, though there were still quite a few people!

bel17

We left the market with the most incredible plums and huge shrimp cocktail, then ate on our way to the chocolate museum.  If ever in Seattle, I highly recommend Theo’s chocolate factory tour.   They have the best chocolate, and literally make you sick with all their samples.  I actually left not wanting any more chocolate… My husband didn’t know who I was!

bel17-5

bel18 bel19

One last shot with my lovely hair net…

bel20

That night, we worked out at the hotel gym… ( I still don’t think I worked off even half the chocolate I consumed!)  Then we walked half a block to get sushi take out, which we enjoyed as our last night in the hotel.  Early the next morning, Daniel dropped me off at the airport, and I headed back on my own as he began his conference.  The trip was less than 72 hours, yet it was full… and fulfilling!  I was so happy to be back home today doing school with the kiddos.  I really was!  It was great to be away, and great to be back.  What a blessing!

Leave a Reply

